NITMA 2021 Awards: NCS to Raise N50 Million Innovation Fund

The Nigeria Computer Society (NCS), a professional organization for computer experts in the country, wants to launch a N50 million innovation development fund to help companies in the field.

The fundraising event, which will take place in Lagos tomorrow, November 18, as part of the society’s annual award ceremony, the National Information Technology Merit Awards (NITMA), will be chaired by Leo-Stan Ekeh, Chairman of Zinox Computers Limited, who is expected to attend with friends from corporate Nigeria.

The 2021 National Information Technology Merit Accolades (NITMA) will be chaired by Lagos State Governor Babatunde Sanwo-Olu, and will include the induction of 51 fellows into the NCS as well as the awarding of many awards in five categories.

The 2021 awards, according to Sodiya, will focus on important issues and concerns affecting the sector’s and society’s growth, with IT specialties, NCS standards, and global best practices serving as an essential criterion for all awards. Among the highlights of his activities, according to him, are the Digital Governor of the Year Award, IT Personality of the Year Award, IT Gold Merit of the Year Award, IT Company of the Year Award, Youth Innovator of the Year Award, Professional and Honorary Fellowship.

He went on to say that four organizations would vie for the IT Company of the Year award: Zinox Technologies, Newwaves Ecosytems, and Data Sciences Nigeria.

According to the NCS President, the IT Gold Merit award will be given to Kashifu Abadullahi, Director General G/CEO National Information Technology Development Agency, and the Director-General, Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency, for their innovative ideas in moving IT to the next level.

“This year, we have the most conferees in the history of NCS, at fifty-one” (51). Dr. Kadri Obafemi Hamsat, the Deputy Governor of Lagos State, is one of the conferees. Distinguished individuals will be awarded Honorary Fellowships in recognition of their dedication and excellent service to Nigeria’s IT growth and development. Dr. Bayero Garba Agabi, founder of DigiVation Network, Mr. Kayode Sobajo, founder/Chairman/CEO, HIIT PLC, and Tim. Akano, MD/CEO, New Horizons Plc are among the honorary fellowship awardees,” he said.


Be the first to know when we publish something new

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Abdulquadri Ayilara
Abdulquadri Ayilara
Abdulquadri is an intern at Tech with Africa (TWA) in Nigeria when he isn't coordinating building site operations. He covers innovative technology in Africa, construction, and agriculture in his writing.

Get in Touch


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related Articles


Latest Posts